Harvest Spice Apple-tea-ni

This recipe is a great reason to be happy that another beautiful fall weekend has arrived.

the tea spot's harvest spice tea and aged rum

The recipe features Harvest Spice Tea from The Tea Spot that I steeped in aged rum and then mixed into the perfect fall cocktail. Harvest Spice is a black tea blend that is pretty potently flavored with orange, cinnamon and clove, so it creates a great flavoring agent to create your own spiced rum. The Harvest Spice Tea came to me as a free sample in a recent Tea Spot order I placed, and now I’m hooked. I’ll definitely order more, because this is my new favorite rum cocktail.

steeping harvest spice tea in aged rum

This summer, I had the pleasure of sitting down for a cup of tea with Boulder, Colo., based The Tea Spot’s founder and CEO, Maria Uspenski. Her company’s mission is pretty amazing: Ten percent of all of The Tea Spot’s profits are donated to cancer wellness and community programs. (I recently wrote about this in a Denver Tea Examiner article about The Tea Spot’s Steep it Pink promotion.) During our tea chat, I was pleasantly surprised to find out that Maria and I share a thing for tea-infused cocktails. So this recipe is for her.

harvest spice apple-tea-ni

Happy cooking and sipping!

Harvest Spice Apple-tea-ni

 By Suzanne Klein, Tea Foodie

Makes 2 cups of tea-infused rum and 2 cocktails

Ingredients:

For the tea-infused rum:

2 heaping teaspoons loose leaf Harvest Spice Tea from The Tea Spot (or other spice-infused black tea blend)

2 cups aged dark rum

For the cocktail:

4 ounces tea-infused rum

4 ounces unfiltered apple juice or apple cider (I used Ginger Apple from local Colorado brand Big B’s )

crushed ice, enough to fill two highball glasses

splash of sparkling water

2 thin apple slices

dash of ground cinnamon

Preparation:

1. Prepare the tea infused rum: Steep the loose leaf tea in the dark rum in a sealed glass container for at least 4 hours. Strain, discard the tea leaves, and store the tea-infused rum in a tightly sealed container.

2. Mix the cocktail: Combine the tea-infused rum and apple juice in a cocktail shaker. Pour the mixture over the crushed ice divided into two highball glasses. Top each glass with sparkling water, a slice of apple, and a dash of ground cinnamon, and serve.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. This is exactly what I want to be drinking right now! I love an apple-y cocktail this time of year.

    1. Tea Foodie [by Zanitea] says:

      Thanks, Jess! I thought the spiced tea-infused rum might also be good mixed with that sparkling apple juice that’s everywhere over the holidays.

Please share your comments